The story of Filipsborg starts with vicar Kalcius, born in Kalix and proprietary of the estate where the Filipsborg mansion now is situated.
From 1703, the mansion is owned by circuit judge Olaus Burman, succeeded by Michael Höijer, in charge until 1757.
From 1777 on, Michael’s son Nils Petter is the heritor. A time of decline follows and a larger part of the mansion is sold to the Crown to enable the erection of officer dwellings Landet and Johannes-borg.
1812-14 The mansion is taken over by district trustee Johan Jakob Ruthberg.
1814-20 A transitional time, where sergeant major Carl Gustaf Lundholm resides and initiates the building of barracs at Sjöbodaberget, but sells the lot before the project is completed.
1820-38 Johan Jakob Ruthberg re-buys the property and completes the dwellings Lundholm intended, now as part of the main buildings.
1838-54 District physician Philip owns and resides at the mansion. His came to give Filipsborg its name.
1854-68 The mansion is now in the possession of one Nils Petter Sundgren, a gentleman-farmer. The widow of doctor Kleinschmiedt still resides at the premises, with an inplicit understanding that the trees on the enclosure is to be left standing and free access to the herb garden for the lady.
1868-1913 The main building as it stands today is erected by Johanna and Per Adolf Svanberg, squires in the local sawmill business, founding three different sawmills. One of them in Axelsvik, which is the same place where the icebreaker Polar Explorer now is situated.
1913-23 The widow Johanna Wilhelmina, born Bergman, is now in possession of the mansion. She is lovingly referred to as Filippa.
1923-55 The daughter Helena takes over, followed by the son of David Svanberg, Birger.
1955-78 Ingrid Svanberg-Bergman is now the sole owner of the mansion. Ingrid was called Mrs Musica because she worked as a local music teacher.
Gradually, Ingrid was beset by financial problems and had to close off large parts of the building. She lived in a small area where the restaurants kitchen is placed now.
When Ingrid passed away in 1977, the detereoration really began. The premises were brutally vandalised and many items were stolen.
During 1986-1988 the entreprenours Mr Jan-Erik Larsson and Mr Nils Lundholm totally restored Filipsborg to its former glory. During a period of 25 years the hotel rooms were used as officie for electronical development, built on various kinds of radio and wireless connections and transmissions. The most known product is the worlds first prototype of the GSM-telephone, that was built in Kalix.
In 2016 Mr Jan-Erik Larsson decided to again restore Filipsborg to become a hotel and experience centre, which was completed during 2017.
In 2018, the 8th of February, Mr Örjan Pekka and Mrs Victoria Sandin became new owners of Filipsborg. Together with their family and dedicated staff they are now developing Flipsborg as an centre för accommodation, experiences and conferencing.
“As a family owned and family run experience centre we put enormous amounts of energy into giving our guests the best stay ever”, says Mr Örjan Pekka.